BSCHoF (British Sports Car Hall of Fame) Announce 2021 Inductees

The British Sports Car Hall of Fame (BSCHoF) has just released its newest list of inductees for 2021. 

BSCHoF - British Sports Car Hall of Fame Logo

President Gary Kincel said, “This years’ 10 selections for induction into the British Sports Car Hall of Fame are all significant contributors to the history and legacy of the British sports car. Anyone who has ever been involved with or a fan of automobiles will know these names and understand their significance.

The 10 newest members of the BSCHoF run the gamut from Entrepreneurs to designers and engineers to drivers extraordinaire. They are:

J.S. Inskip – Once an American body supplier to Rolls Royce, Aston Martin Packard, his company became one of the premier purveyors of British Sports Cars in North America

Ken Miles – An Englishmen by birth, Miles not only became an American champion racer and engineer in Porsches and MGs but became a key member of Carrol Shelby’s Ford Cobra development team and a crucial contributor to the development of Le Mans winner Ford GT effort

John Cooper – Co-founder, with his father Charles Cooper, of the Cooper Car Company. He became an auto racing legend with his mid-engine chassis design that would eventually change the face of the motorsport at its highest levels, from Formula One to the Indianapolis 500 to racing Sports Cars. He also designed and built the quintessential British Sport Sedan, the Mini-Cooper and Mini-Cooper S

Joseph Lucas – In 1860 he established a business selling buckets, shovels, and other miscellaneous domestic materials.  In 1872 his son, Harry came into the business and within three years they opened the Lucas Lamp Works in Birmingham, England, the future home of the British automobile industry. The business became the foundation of Lucas Industries, which went on to supply virtually the entire British Motor industry with electric system components

Peter Morgan – In 1904 His Father founded a motor sales and servicing garage in Malvern Link, England, producing their first car in 1909.  Famous for their Three-wheelers, Morgan’s first four-wheeler came in 1935. Peter Morgan, ran the company upon the founder’s death, expanding the sales of Morgan while maintaining the traditions of his family’s company. He was Director of Morgan until his death in 2003

Malcolm Sayer – Visionary Jaguar Cars designer who through a mathematical calculation technique learned while working as a wartime aircraft engineer, laid down the basis for the Jaguar C-Type, the D-Type, the stillborn XJ13, the E-Type, and the Jaguar XJS. Protesting that he was a designer, not a stylist, he claimed to have never owned a French Curve

John Harold Haynes OBE Obituary
John Haynes

John Haynes – Created the Haynes Manuals brand by publishing the first manual actually entitled “Haynes Owners Workshop Manual“, for the Austin-Healey Sprite in 1965. His manuals would become a ubiquitous fixture in all Do-It-Yourself mechanics libraries. His manuals now cover over 300 cars and 130 motorcycles and such diverse other topics such as the Star Trek Enterprise and Thomas the Tank Engine

Sir Jackie Stewart – “The Flying Scot”. He competed in Formula One from 1965 to 1973 driving for such British Marques as BRM, Tyrrell, and Lola in Indy cars, winning the World Drivers Championship three times. He also competed in a “Lightweight” Jaguar E-Type, the North American-based Can-Am series in the American Chaparral 2J, and the unique Lola T-260. He appeared at Le Mans in the breakthrough BRM-Rover powered Turbine car. Is considered a founder of the safety movement in Motorsports

Jim Clark – A two-time winner of the coveted World Drivers Championship. A versatile driver who competed in Sports Cars, Sedan Racing, and captured a breakthrough win at the 1965 Indianapolis 500, signaling the end of the “Roadster Era” at that race. While primarily associated with the Lotus Marque, Clark raced Sunbeam-Talbots, DKWs, Jaguars (D-Type), Lister Jaguars, Aston-Martin DBR-1, and even a NASCAR Ford at Rockingham, NC

Graham Hill – A two-time World Driving Champion, winning in 1962 and 1968 and runner up on three occasions (1963, 1964, and 1965). Despite not passing his driving test until 1953 at the age of 24 he entered motorsports a year later, Hill would go on to become one of the greatest “all-around” drivers of his generation. Hill is most celebrated for being the only driver ever to win the Triple Crown of Motorsport, an achievement which is defined as winning the Indianapolis 500 (Lola), the 24 Hours of Le Mans (Matra), and the Formula One World Drivers’ Championship (BRM and Lotus)

The 2021 inductees will be installed in the Hall of Fame at a date to be announced shortly, at the BSCHoF facility at Moss Motors in Petersburg, Virginia. A date for the induction ceremony, which would normally take place in Petersburg, VA, shortly after the announcement of the inductees, has not been announced due to the Covid pandemic, out of an abundance of caution. A date will be announced as the situation allows.

The British Sports Car Hall of Fame (BSCHoF) was established as an independent entity in 2016 to preserve and perpetuate the legacy and impact of these legendary vehicles and to honor the men and women responsible for their success. Induction into the Hall of Fame is reserved for those who have made a significant and lasting impact on the British sports car industry and hobby, making it a singular honor for a lifetime of achievement. By celebrating the memory of the dedicated individuals that played key roles, the Hall can serve as a touchstone for British sports car enthusiasts of all ages and interests, furthered by its various preservation and education initiatives.

Note: Press release courtesy of BSCHoF – British Sports Car Hall of Fame.


1 Comment

  1. I’d like to nominate Bob Yarwood, who was not only a capable driver, but signed on with Westfield to build my SEiw in 1997! I’m the third owner, and sing his praises every time I drive it! (44,000 miles and counting with that same old ‘1965’ block!)

Comments are closed.