Jaguar Classic at Le Mans 2016

Julian Thomas Wins Classic Jaguar Challenge at Le Mans

Julian Thomas took the chequered flag in his 1962 low drag Jaguar E-type in front of a record grid of 65 cars at the Le Mans Classic round of the Jaguar Classic Challenge – his third consecutive victory in the five-race series. Qualifying began in the glorious sunshine of Friday 8 July with race fans getting their first glimpse of classic Jaguar C-types, D-types, E-types and an exciting mix of sports saloons and XK-series models.

Victory at Jaguar Classic Challenge for Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie A

Victory at Jaguar Classic Challenge for Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie

The duo of Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie took their second consecutive race victory in the Jaguar Classic Challenge by a mere two-tenths of a second in the International Trophy at Silverstone over the weekend. After the morning’s qualifying session, Thomas and Lockie were in a strong position ahead of the afternoon race and put their low drag Jaguar E-type on pole – their second of the 2016 campaign. Just like the last round at Donington, adverse weather added an extra dose of complexity to the race. From the green light, Lockie surged ahead closely followed by Robert Dickinson, Martin Stretton and John Pearson. The lead changed hands on several occasions throughout the first stint before the compulsory one-minute driver change/pit stop. Once Lockie swapped with Thomas after 20 minutes, the duo has maintained their lead out front and were […]

Jaguar Classic Challenge sees Thomas and Lockie win action-packed race at Donington - Field

Jaguar Classic Challenge Open in Dramatic Fashion at Donington

The first race of the second season of the Jaguar Classic Challenge opened in dramatic style with the pair of Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie taking the chequered flag. The season opener at the Donington Historic Festival began in perfect conditions with bright sunshine and a warm track in the morning qualifying. Julian Thomas topped the time sheets in his E-type from Joaquin Folch-Rusinol joining him on the front row and Martin Stretton third fastest, both in E-types.