Hall of Fame - From left to right - Graham Robson, Mike Cook, Bob Tullius, Michael Dale, Peter Egan, John Twist, and Richard Knudson - In attendance but missing from this picture was Robert Johns

Recap – British Sports Car Hall of Fame

As you all know by now, the induction ceremonies for the British Sports Car Hall of Fame were held this past Friday, June 2nd, in Petersburg, Virginia. The event was held in coordination with the second Moss Motorfest and was a great success with a standing room only crowd of almost 600 people in attendance. Of the twenty-three human inductees (more on that in a moment), eight were in attendance. Those eight were Mike Cook, Michael Dale, Peter Egan, Robert Johns, Richard Knudson, Graham Robson, Bob Tullius and John Twist. During the awards ceremony itself, brief biographies were gone over, stories were told on themselves and others, and then the gorgeous Moto-Lita steering Heacock Insurance wheel awards were handed out. After the awards ceremony proper, started off by Rob Goldman of Moss and then MCed by Graham Robson and John Nikas, a […]

Robert Johns - Hall of Fame Inductee
Hall of Fame

Bob Johns – Triumph Racer and Hall of Fame Inductee

As an airman in the United States Air Force, Robert “Bob” Johns parlayed his amateur success into a position as a Triumph works driver, including stints at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the 12 Hours of Sebring. Bob Johns will be inducted into the British Sports Car Hall of Fame on Friday, June 2. Bob Johns was born in Bradford, Pennsylvania, and began working in his father’s auto repair shop at the age of twelve, which fueled his interest in racing. By age nineteen, he was full-fledged, fast-car crazy. In fact, he attended the last two original-course races at Watkins Glen in 1951 and 1952. These races instilled in him the auto racing fever.

Norman Dewis, famed Jaguar test driver
Hall of Fame

Norman Dewis, OBE – Jaguar Driver and Developer – Hall of Fame Inductee

Norman Dewis, OBE was the chief test driver and development engineer for Jaguar Cars from 1952 to 1985. During his time at Jaguar, he helped develop one of the greatest-ever upgrades in automotive braking, the disc brake, which has probably saved tens of thousands of lives over the years. Dewis, along with 23 other outstanding individuals, will be inducted into the British Sports Car Hall of Fame in June.

Michael Cook - Hall of Fame Inductee
Hall of Fame

Michael Cook – Hall of Fame Inductee

In many ways, Michael Cook is responsible for the vision that most Americans have of the sporting, carefree lifestyle of the British sports car owner. He, along with 22 other remarkable individuals, will be inducted into the British Sports Car Hall of Fame on June 2, 2017. For more than 30 years, Mike Cook’s job was to publicize and promote British cars in America. From the height of the sports car craze in the late ’50s to the end of the era when Jaguar ownership passed to Ford, Cook helped create the image of the marques, generate media buzz, launch new models, and publicize racing successes.

Tony Adamowicz – Hall of Fame Inductee
Hall of Fame

Tony Adamowicz – Hall of Fame Inductee

Tony Adamowicz was born in New York on May 2, 1941. Although he won enduring fame for winning championships in Trans Am and Formula 5000, he also competed at Le Mans and Daytona. What brings him to the British Sports Car Hall of Fame, however, is his start as one of the first racers employed by Group 44. During his career racing, in what many deem to be the golden age of sports car racing, Tony drove with the likes of John Morton, Sam Posey, Chuck Parsons, and of course, Group 44 head and fellow Hall of Fame inductee, Bob Tullius. His illustrious professional career spanned more than two decades, from 1966 through 1989.

British Sports Car Hal of Fame Induction Ceremony Poster Header

British Sports Car Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

There are lots of great British car shows throughout the season and lots of fine car museums. But, every so often people and events and places come together to create a not-to-be-missed opportunity. This is the case with the upcoming Induction Ceremony to the new British Sports Car Hall of Fame that will be held the evening before Moss Motorfest in Petersburg, Virginia. The event is filling up fast, and the ticket-required ceremony and party are going to sell out soon. Make your plans now, get your tickets, and you won’t regret it. Registration for the Friday activities officially closes on May 19, but will likely end earlier if they reach their maximum capacity. And I believe they will. The new Hall of Fame is being constructed to not only showcase the cars we all know and love, but to highlight and thank the folks […]

British Sports Car Hall of Fame

British Sports Car Hall of Fame and 2017 Inductees

The British Sports Car Hall of Fame was established by Moss Motors as an independent entity in 2016 to preserve and perpetuate the legacy and impact of these legendary vehicles and to honor the men and women responsible for their success. Induction into the Hall of Fame is reserved for those who have made a significant and lasting impact on the British sports car industry and hobby, making it a singular honor for a lifetime of achievement. By celebrating the memory of the dedicated individuals that played key roles, the Hall can serve as a touchstone for British sports car enthusiasts of all ages and interests, furthered by its various preservation and education initiatives.

The Royal Automobile Club Hosts the Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Royal Automobile Club Hosts the Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Motor racing luminaries came together with industry colleagues and, for the first time, the public, as the Motor Sport Hall of Fame moved away from its regular London ceremony to a day’s celebrations at the Royal Automobile Club’s Woodcote Park clubhouse in Epsom. The oldest motoring club and oldest motor sport magazine in Britain came together to present a motor sport spectacle, which started off with an early afternoon panel discussion on ‘The Great Rivals’ and included nine-time Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen, two-time Le Mans class winner Darren Turner, former Formula 1 driver and team owner Jackie Oliver, five-time Le Mans winner Derek Bell, Isle of Man TT winner and Motor Sport magazine writer Mat Oxley and Motor Sport editor Damien Smith. The panel was hosted by Formula 1 presenter Jennie Gow and covered both the sport’s historic rivalries […]

Classic Cars

Inaugural Scottish Motoring Hall of Fame

The Association of Scottish Motoring Writers (ASMW) proudly announces today, with the support of Bridge of Weir Leather Company, that the first inductees to the Scottish Motoring Hall of Fame will be confirmed on 3 September 2015. The venue for the inaugural Scottish Motoring Hall of Fame presentation will be the Royal Yacht Britannia in Edinburgh, which will play host to the opening party of the 2015 Concours of Elegance on the evening of 3 September 2015. The Concours of Elegance is among the world’s leading classic car events, and each year is held at a Royal Palace; with this year’s being held at the Palace of Holyroodhouse in Edinburgh from the 4th to 6th September. Announcing the Scottish Motoring Hall of Fame today, ASMW President, Alisdair Suttie, said: “I am so proud to be at the helm of the […]