TWR’s Le Mans-winning Jaguars by John Starkey

TWR’s Le Mans-winning Jaguars

Tom Walkinshaw was a successful racing driver who parlayed his knowledge of top level race preparation and driving into a career as a team boss. From his first few races, in MG Midget racing, he moved to racing in Formula Ford with Team Lotus. His talent soon brought him the 1969 Scottish Championship (then in a Hawke FF1600). His racing career included stints at March, Ecurie Ecosse, and he was hired by Ford to drive a Capri in the 1974 British Touring Car Championship. The following year, while racing in the European Formula 5000 championship, he started Tom Wilkinshaw Racing, steering BMW, Rover, and Mazda race cars to success.

TWR’s Le Mans-Winning Jaguars by John Starkey is the concise history of Tom Walkinshaw’s TWR racing team, the development of TWR Jaguars, and their victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Daytona 24 hour race, and taking the World Manufacturers’ Championship.

TWRs Le Mans winning Jaguars Chapter 3 lead page

Tom and TWR brought Jaguar back from near obscurity, showing the world just how good the cars were – particularly in Endurace Racing series. TWR Jaguar subsequently secured wins at Le Mans, Daytona 24, and scooped the World Manufacturers’ Championship. In TWR’s Le Mans-winning Jaguars, John Starkey reveals the entire history of the TWR Jaguars, from drawing board and development to the racing history. This is both a fascinating and detailed account of one of motor sport’s most iconic teams – and one of endurance racing’s most iconic cars – and a complete and concise database of the TWR Jaguars, including all races and all results.

TWR’s Le Mans-winning Jaguars
  • A concise history of the TWR racing team
  • How TWR Jaguar won the Le Mans 24 Hours in 1988 and 1990
  • How TWR Jaguar won the World Manufacturers Championship, for drivers in 1987, 1988 and 1991
  • How TWR Jaguar won the Daytona 24 Hour Race in both 1988 and 1990
  • A description of the development of the Group C TWR Jaguars from 1983 to 1992
  • How TWR Jaguar won the World Manufacturers Championship for manufacturers three times
TWR’s Le Mans-winning Jaguars - Inside with Quote

This book focusses on the period 1983 to 1992, and includes the following Jaguar models: XJR-5 (1982), XJR-6 (1985), XJR-7 (1985), XJR-8 (1987), XJR-9 (1988), XJR-10 (1989), XJR-11 (1989), XJR-12 (1990), XJR-14 (1991), XJR-16 (1991), and XJR-17 (1992).

TWR’s Le Mans-winning Jaguars - Inside Shot

Title: TWR’s Le Mans-Winning Jaguars
Author: John Starkey
Publisher: Veloce Books
ISBN: 978-1-787115-68-2
Pages: 144
Price: $30.00 / £19.99

Note: Press release courtesy of Veloce Books.