Guild of Motoring Writers Awards for 2015

The best motoring writers and photographers of the year were honoured at the 2015 Guild of Motoring Writers Awards in front of a capacity crowd including Sir Stirling and Lady Susie Moss.

The Guild of Motoring Writers Awards 2015 - Group Photo

More than 30 professionals were recognised for their work in 2015 by the Guild, with Automotive World’s Martin Kahl picking up the prized Renault UK Journalist of the Year award for both his coverage of a wide range of industry topics and also his leadership of a broad team at Automotive World Megatrends.

Hilton Holloway was awarded second place in the Renault UK Journalist of the year, and Jim Holder won third place.

The best upcoming writers were honoured during the night. Autocar’s Lewis Kingston won the Newspress Young Writer of the Year, and Ben Gribbin won the Motoring Research Breakthrough Blogger of the year. The CAR Magazine-sponsored Phil Llewellin Student of the Year was Xavier Boucherat; Beth Llewellin and CAR editor Phil McNamara presented the award.

Two new awards sponsors presented trophies on the night. The DS Automobiles Editor of the Year went to PistonHeads’ Dan Trent, with Autocar’s Jim Holder and Free Car Mag’s James Ruppert both highly commended. GKN Driveline backed the Consumer Journalist of the Year award, won by James Ruppert.

Guild of Motoring Writers - Chris Adamson and Patrica Lodge

Driver of the Year Oliver Rowland and Rider of the Year Danny Kent could not attend the event: both were away testing their 2016 machines. But fast-rising star Rowland did say via email how pleased he was to receive the award. He’s definitely one to watch.

The Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy recognises excellence in recording the history of motoring. Winner this year was Davide Bassoli for his book on the early days of the Rolls-Royce Silver Cloud and Bentley S1.

The judges also praised Sir Stirling Moss’ My Racing Life, a book written in collaboration with Guild member Simon Taylor. Sir Stirling attended the night and collected the award, quipping “all you need to do is find some clever bloke like Simon and pick up an award”.

Sir Stirling and Simon requested the prize money for the award go to the British Racing Drivers Benevolent Fund; BRDC secretary Gillian Carr was on hand to collect the cheque.

Guild of Motoring Writers - Ray Massey and Caroline Holmes

Vauxhall’s Denis Chick was revealed as the latest Friend of the Guild on the night and the Guild’s own Honorary Secretary Chris Adamson received the Pemberton Trophy, which recognises an outstanding contribution to motoring; General Secretary Patricia Lodge was also recognised for her tireless work.

The full list of Guild Awards winners is below (they were live-tweeted during the night, at @GoMW_UK); the event, held at the Royal Automobile Club Pall Mall, was attended by almost 200 writers, PRs, company executives and industry legends.

Congratulations to all those named and honoured. The Guild is grateful to all existing and new sponsors for their support in 2015. For full details of the categories and winners (and, new for 2015, to read the winning entries themselves), see

The full list of 2015 Guild of Motoring Writers award winners


Full award titles

AA Campaigning Louise Cole
Audi Photography Matt Howell (General)

Jakob Ebrey

Jamie Lipman (General)

James Mann (Motorsport)

Bentley Motors International Nick Gibbs
BCA Feature Writer of the Year David Lilywhite Alex Grant
DS Automobiles Editor of the Year Dan Trent Jim Holder

James Ruppert

GKN Driveline Consumer

Journalist of the Year

James Ruppert
Newspress Young

Writer of the Year

Lewis Kingston
IAM Safety Award in memory of Christopher Bullock MBE Ray Massey
Phil Llewellin

Student of the Year Sponsored by CAR

Xavier Boucherat
Market Engineering

Automotive Technology

James Scoltock Rob Marshall
Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy 1st – Davide Bassoli

2nd – Simon Taylor & Sir Stirling Moss

Jonathan Wood

Maurice Hamilton

Motoring Research Breakthrough Blogger of the Year Ben Gribbin
Pemberton Trophy Chris Adamson
Peugeot Motorsport Cup Guy Loveridge Andrew Charman
President’s Trophy Doug Hill
Prova PR Business


Martin Kahl James Baggott
Renault UK/GoMW Journalist

of the Year

1st – Martin Kahl

Runner up – Hilton Holloway

Runner up – Jim Holder

RM Auctions Classic
Writer of the Year
James Elliott Kim Henson

Clive Harrington

Skoda Design Award Richard Webber Drew Meehan
TMD Friction Ltd LCV Writer Paul Barker Louise Cole
GoMW Driver of the Year Oliver Rowland
GoMW Rider of the Year Danny Kent
GoMW Special Award for Contribution to Motoring supported by Kia Motors UK Allan Winn

Pictures: Jeff Bloxham

Richard Aucock
Publicity Officer
The Guild of Motoring Writers
[email protected]