Magnificent 7 – Enthusiasts’ Guide to All Models of Lotus and Caterham Seven

Getting behind the wheel of a Caterham or Lotus Seven is one of the most exhilarating experiences for any driver. The fourth edition of this well-respected MAGNIFICENT 7 4TH ED COVER FRONTand informative book includes details of the models produced in the five years since the third edition was published, and gives a full model listing, specification and driving impressions for each of the Lotus and Caterham Sevens, together with a guide to purchase and restoration, a summary of the main developments, and useful contacts.

Further to the various versions of the Lotus-built Seven, there are more than 80 models produced under the Caterham marque. In 1973, the company then owned by Graham Nearn took over the manufacturing rights from Lotus and has carried on developing this back-to-basics sports car ever since.

Detailed coverage of each of the cars, from the original Lotus Seven S1 Ford through to the Caterham Super Sprint. A timeline of main developments chassis, engine, transmission, suspension. Caterham kits and race cars. Fully updated to include models such as the 160, 270, 310, 420, 480, 620R, AeroSeven, Sprint, Super Sprint, Harrods Edition and Donington Edition. Also detailed are Caterham projects such as the 21, SP/300.R, C120, Formula 1 and LEGO 620R.

The eagerly awaited Fourth Edition of ‘Magnificent 7: the Enthusiasts’ Guide to All Models of Lotus and Caterham Seven, from 1957 to the Present Day’ by Chris Rees is now on sale.

Few cars can claim to have been in continuous production for over 60 years but the Seven – conceived by Colin Chapman of Lotus in 1957 – is the purest sports car ever built and an unchanging constant in the sports car world.

Unchanging? Not quite. In 60 years, it has evolved so much that, in the current Caterham Seven range, not a single component remains from the original Lotus.

In this new book, author Chris Rees details the rich evolution of the Lotus and Caterham Seven from 1957 right up to the current day. Every single variant of the Seven has its own entry in the book, from the very first Ford side-valve Lotus of 1957 to the latest 2018 Caterham Supersprint.

Added to the new, updated Fourth Edition are details of every version of the Seven produced in the last five years since the third edition, including:

  • Iconic Caterham models such as the Sprint, 620R and 160
  • Special editions like the Superlight Twenty, Kamui Kobayashi and Donington
  • Concept cars such as the AeroSeven
  • Prototypes like the C120 (developed alongside the Alpine A110)
  • Projects including Caterham karts, motorbikes and bicycles
  • Over 256 pages, no fewer than 90 distinct versions of the Seven are detailed – that’s one-and-a-half for every year of production. If you want to tell the difference between a 485S and a Superlight R, this book has all the detail you could ever wish for.

MAGNIFICENT 7 4th Ed excerpt 1Each model listing has the in-depth inside story, plus specifications, production figures and identifying features, as well as driving impressions. Also in the book are essential guides to purchase, tuning and restoration; details of Caterham’s race cars and kit-form cars; a summary of the main engineering developments over the years (including chassis, engine, transmission and suspension); and useful contacts (including the factory, clubs, agents and independent specialists).

Title: The Magnificent 7 (4th Edition)
Author: Chris Rees
Pages: 256 pages
ISBN: 978-0992665111
Publisher: Quiller Print
Publication date:  December 2017 (updated Fourth Edition)
Price: £35.00 / $45.00